LCC Questions: Firefighting Ponds and Radomes?

For general discussion with your fellow Minuteman III crewdogs, maintainers and cops. Currently based at Minot AFB, ND, Malmstrom AFB, MT, and F. E. Warren AFB, WY. Formerly based at Grand Forks AFB, ND. Operational from 17 Apr 1970 to present. Share your stories and meet up with an old friend.

LCC Questions: Firefighting Ponds and Radomes?

Postby Jim Rawles on Wed May 11, 2011 3:37 pm

I'm Jim Rawles, a newbie on the forums. I'm a novelist. My background is Army, not Air Force. Some of you may have already read my first novel, "Patriots". (See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patriots:_ ... g_Collapse ) You can also read my biography, here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_Rawles

Presently, I'm writing the second sequel to "Patriots". One of the characters is an E-6 "over six", who is an 2M0X2 stationed at Malmstrom. My goal with this character is to give missileers some long-deserved credit, and to show their resourcefulness, in difficult times.

I'm looking for a few details to include in the novel, for the sake of realism.

My questions are:

1.) Recently, when driving by an LGM-30 LCC on Highway 200 west of Great Falls, I noticed what looked like a firefighting pond out front. Is that it's purpose? Do all LCCs have a pond like that?

2.) I also saw two small radomes. I assume that one of them was a weather radar. If it would not violate security, can someone briefly described the two radomes, and their purpose?

3.) What would the typical daily responsibilities of an E-6 2M0X2 Missile and Space Systems Maintenance NCO be, in the context of LGM-30 LCCs?

Many Thanks!

Jim Rawles
Editor, http://www.SurvivalBlog.com
Author of the novels " Patriots", "Survivors" (scheduled for release in October 2011), and "Citizen Soldiers" (scheduled for release in October 2012)
Jim Rawles

Re: LCC Questions: Firefighting Ponds and Radomes?

Postby banjodog on Thu May 12, 2011 12:44 am